23 comments on “The “PXP 3 Slim Station” Review.

  1. SOLD! I almost bit my tongue off laughing while reading this review, so that’s worth a tenner right there. I think someone out there has a longer TV cable for it, but I’ll need to research that. My money says it’s some Asian ebay seller who sells the PXP (or Pee XP as it shall now be known) and wants to make an extra dollar plus change on that longer cable.

    • Thanks. Yeah there was some very oriental lettering inscribed on the base of the box, which is suggestive of a product that adheres to license regulations. And constructed with the utmost professilism. As you can tell I’m very confident in the longevity of this product.

  2. That’s an astounding review good sir. I can’t really comprehend why anyone is making stuff like this. With emulation so rife that’s what I expected it to be but fake games? That’s completely blown my mind. I think I’ll stick to trying to fit this raspberry pi into my old gameboy case…

    • Yeah I was shocked by “Super Mario Brothers” too. Also the supposed 16 bit Harry Potter game is apparently a sequel? A very odd games console.

  3. “…when a package arrived weighing less than an anorexic cotton bud…”

    Isn’t it always terrifying when you order some sort of electronic thing and it turns out to be lighter than a feather? I always think they forgot to put the insides in!

    Thank you for saving us from this PXP thing, by the way. I’ve seen it online and was, at one time, almost curious enough to pick it up. Now I can rest easy and save my pennies.

    • I was a little concerned when it arrived as light as it was! Yeah it’s certainly not something I would consider buying again. But I didn’t think it would even work so, in a way, it acceded my expectations.

  4. Your grammar and spelling are absolutely disgusting. You use an extensive vocabulary and yet make simple mistakes such as “beaks” versus car brakes and the wrong tense. It slightly annoys me how you appear to have a very good vocabulary and terrible writing. The review was ok, but overall you opinion was so incredibly negative and filled with unnecessary comments.

    • Noted, thanks. The review itself was never intended to be a deep analytical examination of a cheap product that I’m sure violates a number of copyright laws. The reason that my “opinion” was so negative is because the “PXP 3 Slim Station” is a genuinely abhorrent machine with very few redeeming features.

  5. I have one of them myself, and believe ot or not, I actually like it. It introduced me to a few good games I never knew existed, and it has both Sonic 1 and 2 on it. The system’s got an adequate battery, I’ll admit (and even if the battery did stop working, the system does work if you use the charger as an AC). I can play mine while charging it too. It gives me plenty of warning when the battery’s getting low. I use a portable charger; that helps a lot as well.

    I got mine over a month ago and it’s still going strong. My TV has its AV outlets on the side, not the back, so I can enjoy the TV experience. While it doesn’t improve the sound quality, the TV speakers still make it more bassy and that’s something. The whole thing functions as I expected. For a scale of 1-10 as to how good general ripoff consoles are, I’d give it an 8.

    -1: Sonic the Hedgehog, my favorite game on here, is a bit slower than it’s supposed to be (but the channels are in sync, unlike some other PXP3 models).

    -1: That bad sound quality I mentioned. Sometimes it fluctuates up to the point that it actually sounds good for a few minutes, though. Loud enough speaker too.

  6. I bought it and it’s not as bad as you say it is. The fact that it’s light is a good thing, as it still has decent battery life, and it probably could withstand being dropped. It doesn’t overheat like a phone or a tablet. The games (at least the ones I’ve tried) run perfectly and the speakers are loud. If you want to play this kind of retro game but don’t like using touchscreen devices and don’t want to run down your phone battery, I would recommend this.
    I get the feeling you just wanted to write a scathing review because you’re that kind of person.

    • I would hardly call it scathing. It is a cheap knock off that revels in the fact that it’s a cheap knock off. But like I said in my review it only cost me £10 and does the fundamental basics that some higher priced devices don’t; work. The fact that it functions well, considering the price, is it’s strongest attribute. I wasn’t expecting a premium device and wasn’t disapointed with what I received. Hell I still pick it up on occasion to try my hand at some TMNT’s!
      I’m glad that you’re enjoying the system, it’s great for what it is; a cheap alternative to the more expensive emulators out there. Have a good Christmas Larry.

  7. I bought one of these for my GF so I wouldn’t have to dig about in the loft to find her old Amiga so she can play Cannon Fodder.
    She knows more about this sort of thing than I do and she gives it the thumbs up.
    So, all’s well that ends well.

  8. This is actually the worst review ever. Not even funny. Way too many attempts at boring metaphors. Get to the point already.. Don’t quit your day job.

  9. I took my battery out and put it back in to break any static charge. Then put it on the charger an hour. It then worked good.

Leave a Reply

