7 comments on “2015: Redeeming The Games Industry And My Wallet.

  1. Very good post.
    The game I regret purchasing this year (and I can’t believe I’m writing this) is Halo 5. Though everyone describes the multiplayer as been absolutely sublime, I went in only for the single-player experience, and plot-wise, it was a tragic disappointment that severely clouded my judgement of 343’s ability to keep the long-running franchise alive. I have a shirt with the slogan ‘I shaved my balls for this’ printed on the front – that basically summarizes my frustration.
    As for the game I’m glad I purchased, it would be a toss-up between two titles. First, is Forza 6, and though I’m not a big fan of car racing in general, the ability to zoom around a map, for no other reason than for the challenge, occupied my overly worked mind. Secondly, was Rise of the Tomb Raider. I skipped 2013’s Tomb Raider, but playing this sequel, renewed my appreciation for Lara Croft so much, that I hunted down the 2013 game, and my appreciation for the series is once more rekindled.
    Have a great Christmas!

  2. To broaden my answer, I’m glad I bought a PS Vita towards the end of the year. I’ve spent the last 5 months in China, teaching English, so my gaming side was scratching at the walls wanting to be freed. Atelier Rorona Plus is a surprisingly good JRPG, a genre I’ve neglected for too long.

    I do regret purchasing so many July Steam Sale games, now that I’ve mostly moved to the PS platform. But I will venture back, to catch up on the Mass Effect series, Rage, and Might and Magic Heroes VII. 🙂

    • Sounds as though you’ve had a decent reason not to game. To experience such a hiatus from gaming it must feel rather exciting to begin pursuing titles you’ve missed out on for over 5 months? The Vita is still something I haven’t made the leap to and with a daughter on the way it’s unlikely to happen anytime soon.

  3. I remember standing in the store and holding both The Order and Bloodborne, trying to decide which I would get. Everyone told me to try The Order but I decided to take Bloodborne. I was so please with that game. And then the reviews and complaints about The Order started rolling in and I breathed a sigh of relief.

    Great post and have a great New Year!

  4. I’m actually happy about all of the games that I bought this year. Even with the ones that I didn’t get to finish (Bloodborne). I still like to explore the areas that I’ve unlocked. It’s simply the best game that I’ve played so far that I won’t probably get to finish.

  5. I was on the fence about The Witcher 3; after playing previous games I wasn’t a huge fan of the combat system. But I’m so glad I eventually picked it up. Things have been overhauled magnificently, and combat controls feel a lot more organic for me on the PS4. Worth it!
    Although, 2015 also marks a year in which Let’s Plays saved me. The Order 1886 being an original game with a fantastic aesthetic, I preordered the thing, only to become so equivocal about how it actually played that I broke my own damn rule and watched the first part of a walkthrough. Never been more disappointed. I cancelled the hell out of that thing.
    Maybe I’ll give it a go in the future for the Victorian, Nightmare Creature-esque look, but right now I’m good not going near it.

Leave a Reply

