7 comments on “Do You Still Trust The Games Industry?

  1. There are a couple reasons why I’m not one to preorder games these days and one of them is the fact so many games need huge patches to work well after release. So I don’t have a lot of trust that a game is worth plunking down full price off the bat just for some bonuses. It is sad that games can get positive marks for not needed huge patches to fix game breaking bugs after release.

    For reviewers I trust the big sites to the point they will talk about bugs and such and since they likely had the game ahead of time and have had a bunch of time to play already they will be the ones to know about them soonest.

    I trust individual reviewers just to be honest and if I didn’t, I would feel like I was wasting my time if not trusting. Normally it doesn’t affect buying decisions as 1) I know I won’t play the game for whatever reason and just want to read about it, 2) Know I will try it sooner or later no matter what is said as I believe the game is in my wheelhouse, or 3) Tag the review to read later until after I play and just want to read what others thought after I had my experience.

    Reading reviews for me is fun because I enjoy how they present their review and get their thoughts across. If it’s a game I don’t know about and they say it’s a must buy, I wouldn’t go right out and buy it though nor would I ignore a game they hated that I thought sounded cool. Not for lack of trust, just the simple reason all of us are different and things click with us differently. Plus in this age of game play and lets plays videos, it’s way too easy to get more information on whether or not the game would click for myself than just knowing someone else enjoyed it or not.

  2. Pingback: MrLuvva’s Luv-In #12 | mrluvvaluvva

  3. Hmm, I can’t say I don’t trust the game industry. It’s not really a sense of trust I feel, but an understanding of the bottom line when big publishers are concerned. Profitability will drive their bottom line and I have an expectation of a degree of shenanigans from the bigs in regard to this. Best practice for me continues to be comparing how long the games content is enjoyably played vs the cost, measuring up dollars to hours. If something is lacking, then I’m less apt to purchase a game from them right away or if at all in the future. If the game…well sucks… It’s time to action a refund and return. I do recognize the, err, miserly tactics of dlc which the use of is always met with a raised eyebrow. It’s difficult to say where something legitimate place in narrative lays if it isn’t included in the original purchase price.

    A lot of that can be taken case by case, such as Dragon Age Inquisition I’ve been happy with the way the dlc has worked thus far. I haven’t paid a dime for multiplayer dlc (a could write a whole post about why paying for this feels so very very wrong) and the paid dlc has been periphery to the main story and is fairly clearly described as such in the download pages. Then there’s a few cosmetics, etc that I never have any real issue with (pay money, get a fancy throne, ok whatever floats your boat). All in all, not bad. Now…dead space 3… That there is a damn shame. Dlc that actually BREAKS immersion, something the previous two games tried to maintain. I’m just…I can’t relive my rants about this game again. It’s bad though.

    So, yeah I can trust the game industry in that I “trust big publishers to always keep profit and shareholders in mind to some degree and I trust that small publishers will try to impress with content and not always succeed”; however, publications and editorials I have issue with trusting.

    I know human nature, and I have a general mistrust of it. And if a publisher wants to impress they can influence with more than just money. The continued stream of games to test, promo items or attendance to exclusive events are all things that can deter an acidic and vicious review. Even simpler, pressure to not slam a game in a review for fear of your employer being displeased. Or maybe a reviewer holds a studio bias towards a publisher, or even an entire console. Even PREFERENCE affects a review if someone doesn’t come at the review with a degree of ethical purity that Kant would find approving of. It’s difficult because if you don’t know that someone is ensuring they’re reviewing with absolute objectivity then you can’t trust a review from that person. What’s worse, once you find someone that can approach reviewing with that level of objectivity, they might not review “that one game” you want them to review or maybe even a whole genre.

    We’re in an age where (and I’m going out on a limb with hack saw in hand by saying this) that everyone thinks they can review games and can broadcast their play whole giving a critique on it, but what we’re left with is a case of “fast food reviewing” where there a lot of quantity but it’s increasingly hard to find quality.

    And I’m realizing that I’m probably going to make this comment I’m making into a post sometime soon because I’m prattling on and still have so much to say.

    But, maybe I’ve said enough.

    • DLC can certainly be divisive, but it can extend the life of a game beyond the point of simply playing for a week and selling it on for modest reparations. It’s true that everyone has there own opinion as well as the means to express, even if we don’t want to listen.
      Really sorry for the very late reply.

      • No worries on the late reply. DLC and cost therein certainly has been a hot button subject in the last few days. Bungie could be used for a good study on DLC price points and where consumers find value, and where they feel ripped off.

  4. And forgive the grammatical errors here and there. Typed this on my phone and autocorrect is a fickle mistress

Leave a Reply

