6 comments on “QTE’s: A “Heavy” Burden

  1. I kind of enjoy some cutscene QTE’s. It’s almost a, “Yeah this is a cutscene, but that’s no excuse for you to lose attention or take a break”. I’ve always viewed cutscene QTE’s that way. Game developers work hard on the detail and cinematic aspects of a cutscene, and they are very proud of them and want people to not skip them. That’s certainly the impression I got from reading some game developers blogs, that state that one of the most annoying things is people continually skipping the cutscenes.

    From my perspective, I may be wrong, but gamers attention spans seem to be getting shorter, maybe because I tend to watch a lot of YouTube videos and browse at the comments, or maybe it’s to do with the age of gamers now, when I was younger, Quake was the only FPS, other games required more thought. Call of Duty requires no attention span, each match being only about 10 minutes long, you can play it without really using your brain, just point and shoot for no real reason. QTE’s sometimes give you a reason, or a consequence for your actions or lack thereof.

    Sometimes though, games can get it completely wrong. Having to complete one scene over and over again because you missed it, or mashed the wrong button by mistake is sometimes infuriating. I find this with games aimed at children. I’m sure it was, “Bolt” that my daughter played on the DS (I might be wrong), and it was full of them. She found it difficult and frustrating and gave up. Kids games seem to be full of them, apparently it’s supposed to aid co-ordination. It does not teach consequences of actions more, “Do this, this precise way or die over and over”.

    Therefore, I have mixed views on QTE’s, sometimes I enjoy them, sometimes they infuriate me and in some games I’d prefer more choices over my actions than QTE’s allow.

    • I totally understand your aversion to many QTE’s, and I particularly empathise with how infuriating it can be when they are implemented poorly. Why they would introduce them in games that should be simplified for a younger audience, regardless of supposed improvement to a child’s coordination is beyond me. When implemented well, with simplistic button interactions I believe they heighten and improve a gamers ability. Though I’m still awaiting such improvements.

      Appreciate you comment and examples. Apologizes for the late response.

  2. I don’t particularly like QTEs, but I can deal with them in small doses. I have not tried Heavy Rain, but I am not sure I would like a game so focused on them. My big issue with QTEs are the button prompts. Nothing takes me out of the experience like a giant X button popping up in a scene.

    • Is surprising how emotive a game can become when solely focused on QTE’s. If you can tolerate the extensive use of button prompts, melancholic environments and great, gaping chasm’s in the plot then I think you would enjoy Heavy Rain. Maybe.

      Appreciate your comment and views. Sorry for my latent response.

  3. I haven’t played Heavy Rain but I did play Farenheit, their previous game (aka Indigo Prophecy in the US). One annoying thing about the QTEs was that they ran almost continuously throughout some of the cutscenes. So even though I could tell that the cutscenes were good and clearly had a TON of work put into them, I was too busy having to watch the never ending button prompts to get any more than a vague sense of what was going on. So it’s a decent game… but I’d recommend hiring someone to play it for you while you watch to get the best experience. That is so backwards.

    • I understand where your coming from. Cut scenes often grant a soothing reprieve from the accelerating chaos perpetrated on screen, with QTE’s spoiling that moment of tranquillity and narrative progression. Its interesting that more immersive button prompts can sometimes detract from the absorption of the game.

      Thanks for your comment and views.

Leave a Reply

