5 comments on “Back In My Day…

  1. Great post.
    A couple of my gaming memories would be playing games in school – I mean, right under the teacher’s noses, and this continued into high school where we even went so far as to have multiplayer matches. I remember one moment the teacher came in; we thought we were done for; then he throws one of the students out, and takes his place in the counter strike game we were having. Learned something that day – never let your media teacher take the C4.
    Playing checkers when I was incredibly young; funnily enough, I don’t think the AI in any other game to date is as effective as that which is given to the opposing team in a game of checkers. Somehow the damn thing seems to learn your moves; thankfully other game developers have not caught up with this technology yet.
    The first Halo and the multiplayer mayhem that came with it. To this day I think that the Halo universe has some of the best multiplayer features. The original game today in comparison is basically a bunch of dull colours chasing after one another. Unfortunately since then not many people want to play with me – apparently I’m vindictive and horrible – I mean, just because I kill fellow team members? I say, incompetence ought to be punished with an energy sword in the back!
    Perhaps also Unreal II, which is the first game that caused me to cry my eyes out by the end. The conclusion still gets me every time.
    As for your other question, I am unsure younger gamers will remember gaming with the same sentimentality. I started gaming in what, 1994 I think, maybe early 1995, and this was back in the days when the gaming industry was not one giant cash cow and to be a gamer was to be this kind of social, nerdy outcast. Now everyone’s doing it – it’s still great, don’t get me wrong, and I will never stop being an avid gamer, but, I guess for me, I think there was a time when gaming was essentially something that could really separate you from other people; made you different and put you into your own culture; now that it’s the social norm to some extent, I suppose it’s a lot like drugs; everyone is doing them and it has thus come to be expected.

    • It’s true that profitability of gaming has broadened the level of participants, which is both positive but perhaps ultimately detrimental. Many gamers now are casual, and as such don’t necessarily require new or inventive concepts and increased conceptual sterility. But there is no question that gaming-particularly after reading your experiences- hold a cathartic potency that gaming now sadly can’t compete with.

      Appreciate your comment and your vivid recollections.

    • It’s true that profitability of gaming has broadened the level of participants, which is both positive but perhaps ultimately detrimental. Many gamers now are casual, and as such don’t necessarily require new or inventive concepts. But there is no question that gaming-particularly after reading your experiences- hold a cathartic potency that gaming now sadly can’t compete.

      Appreciate your comment and your vivid recollections

  2. My most vivid memory of a video game would likely be playing Dig Dug in the basement of an old house my parents raised me in. The Atari was placed in the basement with an older T.V. and I remember playing that for a couple of hours but not thinking much of it. I recall spending many hours with my Commador 64 but I pulled that out several times during my youth. “Kinda wish I still had it”… but that’s probably as vivid as I can think…

    • I’m always amazed at how games seem to have emotive bonds to our past. Trouble is some of these classic games aren’t necessarily as great as you may recall.

      Sorry for the immensely latent response to your comment. They are always appreciated.

Leave a Reply

