8 comments on “IMPERFECT SOZZLING TOUGH APEMAN*

  1. Uh, er, um, well, after reading those written words above, suddenly what I am to write will seem downright unintelligible by comparison to such verbosely energetic sentences that seem unbelievably loquacious by design. Really enjoyed it though, don’t get me wrong!
    I am alright with puzzles. I tend to stick to shooters, and rarely, if ever, is a puzzle that only an individual who is a mastermind or of like equivalent can solve appears in such an action spectacular. When used right, they easily fit into the story, just as you stated in your piece, because it is always good to have a rest from beating in the skulls of your enemies. Sometimes your brain simply needs to be quenched of its need to do a little more than hit the right trigger button again and again and again ad nausea.
    I can remember those Hexen games from Raven software back between 1996 – 1998. I really enjoyed the puzzles that were found in such titles – although at times in the original Hexen it became a little frustrating when you pushed as many buttons as you could find and then ran from level to level like a cadaver attempting to fathom what it was that you opened – if anything – then you had to go back and re-press them, only to find that either the button no longer worked, it worked on this occasion, but not the last, or it took several hit points from your health and placed the words ‘you’re stupid’ on the screen. Bearing in mind that last occasion happened in Hexen DK, and only on one occasion. Of course, if you kept clicking that same button, it eventually decided that calling you ‘stupid’ was not embarrassing enough and instead hurled you into a river of molten lava just for good measure. Good times.
    In Singularity (God, I must have a crush on Raven’s puzzles) I found some of the trials that one had to travel through to be quite ingenious. In Darksiders, I found many of those puzzles to be something else entirely. I mean, who would figure out without assistance from the trusty walkthrough that you had to jump up and down to make a crate fly from one side of the room to the next?
    Also, I am one of those gamers who, if unable to accomplish something in around twenty minutes to half an hour becomes a little frustrated. I guess at the end of the day it is a question of whether you like the game enough to continue through the fraught brain teasers that may present themselves.

    • Yeah I did go a little overboard with my descriptions. I think motivation, as you mentioned is a very integral element when attempting to overcome complicated puzzles. There’s no sense in wasting time solving puzzles, if your not going to enjoy the games chosen outcome.

      Thanks for another well stipulated comment.

  2. I like puzzles in moderation. One example of being excessive with puzzles was the Temple of Pandora in the first God of War. It literally went on for an hour of non-stop puzzling. Not exactly the reason I picked it up, if I’m honest.

    Short attention span aside, I get frustrated easily. After 20 minutes of failing at a particular puzzle or boss fight (screw you, Ninja Gaiden 2), I become a true believer that there should be a “skip the frigging puzzle, NOW” button.

    • I didn’t always enjoy puzzles; I recall being deeply frustrated and excessively bored with Resident Evil 2’s exhausting puzzles. Scuttling around looking for specific keys and statues seemed so elaborate, especially in a police station!

      Thanks for your comment.

  3. Puzzles can both define and destroy a game of any genre except maybe for puzzlers. Resident Evil is a good example of how to do it well whilst the back drops may not necessarily befit some of the mind bending puzzles on show they would always give you the information you needed to beat a puzzle so long as you put the time in to searching for it.

    You can’t talk about puzzles without talking about Portal I think it takes a certain devious type of mind to come up with some of the insanely difficult to beat rooms in both Portal titles and the beating of said rooms can give you a real sense of achievement. Nate Drakes adventures in the Uncharted series, however brilliant, fail to tax the old gray matter to a great degree on any occasion and I feel it is probably the only area in which the game needs some work. The idea of giving Nate a notebook to help him solve puzzles is excellent yet redundant if he is only ever faced with parlor tricks that wouldn’t vex a three year old antelope.

    Gratz on another thought provoking post Karl your ability continues to befuddle me as much as a locked room with no obvious entrance.

    • I think my enjoyment of puzzles is purely down to to Portals influence . Never have I played a game that intially made you feel stupid, only for you to finally decipher the correct soloution, which bestows great clarity and a you feeling of incredible intellect.

      Sorry that my post appears somewhat unintelligible. I’m not entierly sure as to what point I was trying to convey in the end myself? I appreciate the comment.

      • Apology accepted but entirely unnecessary I totally got your point. Have you been keeping up with our retro look back over on teabagordie.WordPress.com (apologies for the shameless self promotion) just because we talk about resi in the latest price. Would appreciate some feedback.

        Thanks.

Leave a Reply

