5 comments on “When Do Games Become Too Real?

  1. Great references in your piece first off. Second, I think you made the excellent point in the final para that basically sums up the argument – gamers play games to experience an alternate reality that is far from the one they live within. Basicly, the film convention of ‘suspension of disbelief’ presides over the gaming world too, where gamers play games, knowing full well they are not real. I mean, in reality, you get shot, you die, you don’t keep running around happy and gay.
    Of course, this whole notion of gaming realism is very powerful in Australia, with an R18+ rating never been endorsed by the government until now, which will come into effect January 2013. With that said, the governmnet has continuously screwed people out of playing many titles due to ‘excessive realism’, arguing that such is incredibly unhealthy. Left 4 Dead 2 was a prime example, and your references to the GTA games are basically straight from the anti-gaming bookelts that all Oz politicians no doubt carry up their sleeves.
    I think the argument one could use is – are games any more real than films? True, in a game you control the violence and such, but is it any more graphic than a movie?
    Like you said in your final para, if gamers cannot understand that a game is work of fiction, then they should not play ’em. The entire gaming community should not be limited to what we can play just because a couple bad apples. Besides, I am yet to hear of a time when a video game has actually influenced a person to do anything untoward, regradless of how amazingly violent it is. Besides, in my view, if a game does not have excessive violence to such an extent that I almost need a towel to wipe it from my screen, I ain’t too interested in it. With that said, if games continue to become more and more realistic, I say, let e’m. All the more fun for us, right?

    • I couldn’t of stated it better myself. I just get so tired of people blaming all forms of media for “manipulating” people, or somehow warping individuals imaginations, into unruly psychopaths. Politicians should give the human race more credit, as the majority of gamers, film goers and book readers aren’t susceptible to brainwashing, which is never games intent. I mean if thats the case then they may as well place preachers, nuns and other clergy at stores, ask them to say a prayer, and then cast our souls to the deepest recesses of hell!

      Thanks again for your comment, and sorry for the exceedingly late reply.

  2. See I can agree with this..to some degree.. If that makes any sense at all..

    Because some of it I do not agree with.. Gameplay has never been much of important influence to me as story. For me story has always been the most important part of a video game, but I also treat video games much like I treat my interest in comic books, and books in general.

    Without the question or drive the game play could be amazing..and I will “and this is personally directed just for me” show little to no attention to the game.. Take for example GTA 4.. Honestly that game had a great drive for me.. the characters had been interesting, the areas showed life..and over all it was compelling to me to want to finish and start..

    Now take any of the games before it and really I showed very little interest in the series.. I believe that if you take a really good story..you can pretty much push good gameplay or even CRAPPY game play and still come up with a good game…

    but really I think it has a great more to do with personality and what you want to get out of that time..

    • Very true. I recently played the TMNT game that I remember playing on the very old Nintendo (I’m showing my age now), and despite the total lack of story, and total lack of skill on my behalf, it didn’t affect my enjoyment of it. Finding a game that delicately balances both gameplay and narrative well, is rare. So sometimes you have to make comprimises, and figure out what you trully want from a game.

      Appreciate your views and sorry for the late reply.

Leave a Reply

